And then it was over …

The 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship season came to an end earlier this week (November 25) when championship promoter IMG officially announced the cancellation of the round to be held in Germany at the Nürburgring in December amid the ongoing Coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic.

Therefore the championship standings after eight rounds became final and Swede Johan Kristoffersson (VW Polo Mk5) has been named 2020 FIA World Rallycross Champion, for the third time in his career. Joel Christoffersson’s KYB Team JC with drivers Robin Larsson (Audi S1) and Mattias Ekström (Audi S1) has been named 2020 FIA World Rallycross Champion for Teams.

Regarding the FIA European Rallycross Championship, 2020 will mark the first season in the history of Rallycross that has been left without a European champion. The minimum number of three competitions for having a ‘valid’ FIA championship – according to a decision taken by the FIA Off-Road Commission at its May meeting – has not been met. Only two rounds took place in 2020 with Sweden (Höljes) in August and Latvia (Riga) in September. The same applies to the 2020 FIA European Super1600 Championship as also here only two rounds took place (the double header event in Spain in October).