A fifth World title for Johan Kristoffersson

Johan Kristoffersson (VW Polo RX1e) is the new FIA World Rallycross Champion, his fifth World title after he won the World championship earlier in 2017, 2018, 2020 and 2021.

Kristoffersson won the title in style today (October 30) as he drove to victory in the penultimate round of the 2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya at Montmeló in Spain. Timmy Hansen (Peugeot 208 RX1e) finished second while Ole Christian Veiby (VW Polo RX1e) completed the success for Kristoffersson Motorsport in third. In addition to the drivers’ championship Kristoffersson Motorsport won also the teams’ championship today.

In the FIA RX2e Championship Viktor Vranckx (RX2e) clinched the title. The win in the final event of the season was for Isak Sjökvist (RX2e).

Johan Kristoffersson is the 2022 FIA World Rallycross Champion. (Photo: © Michael Jurtin / Red Bull Content Pool)

Sunday’s action at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya went underway at 11am with a warm-up session. Next up was the SuperPole where Ole Christian Veiby was leading it with two more drivers to come. Timmy Hansen, second in the championship, improved Veiby’s time while Johan Kristoffersson afterwards lowered Timmy Hansen’s time with almost a full second.

Following his SuperPole win Kristoffersson decided to start from pole in the second race of the first heat and won his race setting the fastest time in the first heat with Timmy Hansen second fastest. He added another fastest time to it in the second heat beating Timmy Hansen another time. This lead to a ranking with Kristoffersson on top ahead of Timmy Hansen. Kristoffersson and Timmy Hansen then won the Progression Races meaning they were in separate semi-finals.

Kristoffersson Motorsport clinched the teams championship. (Photo: © Michael Jurtin / Red Bull Content Pool)

Kristoffersson won the first semi-final ahead of Klara Andersson (PWR Hyundai i20 RX1e) who qualified for another World RX final. From the second semi-final Timmy Hansen and Ole Christian Veiby made it through. The best third place finisher was Niclas Grönholm (PWR Hyundai i20 RX1e). The final went to Kristoffersson who lead it from lights to flag. Timmy Hansen finished second with Ole Christian Veiby claiming the last podium spot and completing the success for Kristoffersson Motorsport who could start the celebrations for winning the drivers as well as the team championship.

Start of the RX1e final at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Sunday. (Photo: © Michael Jurtin / Red Bull Content Pool)

“I’m very proud,” commented Kristoffersson after he became World champion. “We started out from scratch with this car. It’s our baby, and so many people have put their whole lives into the project. This is such a team effort, and it’s been a real pleasure to have been a part of that journey.

“Today, the Volkswagen was flying, and I really enjoyed showing off its pace and potential in the final, that was a lot of fun, pushing flat-out for five laps. I think every driver dreams of having a car like that.”

In the RX2 category Viktor Vranckx is the 2022 FIA RX2e Champion. The Belgian already secured himself the title prior to the event when it turned out the number of RX2e starters were ten. This meant – without any damages or accidents or even championship points penalties from the Stewards – he was going to earn at least a minimum of six championship points bringing his total to 73. Isak Sjökvist was on 53 points before the final event and a win for the Swede would earn him 20 points bringing his total to 73 points. Even then the number of wins was in favor of Viktor Vranckx as he won the first two events while Sjökvist was without a win before Barcelona.

Isak Sjökvist (RX2e) is leading it from Viktor Vranckx (RX2e) in the RX2e final at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. (Photo: © Michael Jurtin / Red Bull Content Pool)

On the track it all translated for Vranckx to a sixth place overnight after having set a ninth and third time in the heats on Saturday. Isak Sjökvist and Nils Andersson (RX2e), who were together with Patrick O’Donovan (RX2e) battling it out for the runner-up position, were leading it overnight.

On Sunday in the third heat Vranckx set the fastest time and won his Progression Race afterwards. In the first semi-final he drove to another win ahead of Nils Andersson with both qualified for the final. From the second semi-final O’Donovan and Pepe Arqué (RX2e) passed the finish line as one and two. However, because of two incidents in the semi-final Arqué as well as O’Donovan received a time penalty from the Stewards leaving them out for the final in favor of Sjökvist and Raül Ferré (RX2e).

In the final Sjökvist had the better start with Vranckx following the Swede in second. Vranckx completed his joker at the end of the second lap with Sjökvist responding immediately the lap after and remaining in the lead. Sjökvist won the final, his first win this season, ahead of Vranckx who is the 2022 RX2e champion.

In the final standings Vranckx ends with 83 points. Sjökvist is the runner-up (73 points) while Nils Andersson ends on a fine third place with 65 points.

Viktor Vranckx is the 2022 FIA RX2e Champion. (Photo: © Michael Jurtin / Red Bull Content Pool)

The final event of the 2022 FIA World Rallycross Championship takes place in two weeks time (November 12-13) at the Nürburgring in Germany and is joined by the 2022 FIA European Rallycross Championship for RX3 cars for their final event of the season.


World RX – Final: 1. Johan Kristoffersson (S), VW Polo RX1e; 2. Timmy Hansen (S), Peugeot 208 RX1e; 3. Ole Christian Veiby (N), VW Polo RX1e; 4. Klara Andersson (S), PWR Hyundai i20 RX1e; 5. Niclas Grönholm (FIN), PWR Hyundai i20 RX1e.

World RX Team: 1. Kristoffersson Motorsport (S), 33; 2. Hansen World RX Team (S), 26; 3. Construction Equipment Dealer Team (S), 23.

RX2e – Final: 1. Isak Sjökvist (S), RX2e; 2. Viktor Vranckx (B), RX2e; 3. Nils Andersson (S), RX2e; 4. Pablo Suárez (E), RX2e; 5. Raül Ferré (AND), RX2e.


World RX (9/10): 1. Johan Kristoffersson (S), 162; 2. Timmy Hansen (S), 123; 3. Niclas Grönholm (FIN), 114; 4. Kevin Hansen (S), 112; 5. Ole Christian Veiby (N), 112; etc.

World RX Team (9/10): 1. Kristoffersson Motorsport (S), 274; 2. Hansen World RX Team (S), 235; 3. Construction Equipment Dealer Team (S), 206.

RX2e (5/5): 1. Viktor Vranckx (B), 83; 2. Isak Sjökvist (S), 73; 3. Nils Andersson (S), 65; 4. Patrick O’Donovan (IRL), 60; 5. Raül Ferré (AND), 58; etc.